Auto-Resonant PWM circuit won't run in LTspice w/o Load between circuits.

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by lost_bro, May 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lost_bro

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 17, 2009
    Good Evening All.

I am trying to combine two separate circuits. The 1st. is a self-resonating TANK/LC circuit derived from the days of radio about 80 years ago. The second is a Current limiting PWM circuit which I have been using now for about 2 years in my vehicles (brute force hydrolysis). I have All three of the circuits set up and running in LTspice. Both the first and second circuit run fine and as expected in LTspice.
    When I combine (or try to combine them, I am probably missing some obvious solution to this), I get the wanted waveform and function ONLY when I connect a simulated load of 29 amp.s or greater between the two circuits.
    I'm not sure what effect this simulated load has on making the two circuits function as wanted. Apparently something is not balanced in the circuit.
    The idea to combine the two circuits is to end up w/ a circuit which automatically finds resonance, takes that waveform and gates it via the current limiting PWM. This would allow some level automatic regulation of the in-resonance waveform.
    This is indeed what happens w/ the LTspice simulation.
    Here is the link for the files: http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/LTspice/files/ Temp/
    I have already uploaded to the LTspice group at Yahoo.
    The file is : PMW modified_self_resonating.zip
    Just go down the page and double click on the file.
    I would appreciate any and all comments regarding this circuit. I am by far only a novice, and could benefit from the experience of a forum such as this one.
    Thanks in advance
    Lost_bro

2. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
    Hello,

The link does not work.
    You can upload the attachments here in the AAC.

Bertus

3. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007