Auto Pilot

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by circuitbob, May 25, 2012.

1. circuitbob

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 29, 2011
    Hi, due to disabilities, I’m am having a custom pontoon built. What I would like to do is build an auto pilot system that works like this:

the pontoon is manually driven from point a to point b
    While this is happening, a GPS must be recording and storing the points
    Now, when I want to get back to point A from B, the GPS must be read and sent to my steering system(can be designed to work with whatever I come up with here or another forum)
    While moving back to point A, the GPS must be monitored to make sure the boat is in correct path.

2. BMorse

Sep 26, 2009
    Hey circuitbob, you are from lansing huh? I am in lansing now (I work here but live in Vermontville). This sounds very doable.... I have written a few GPS programs and do work with automation a lot (thats what I do for a living.) So if you need some help let me know where you are at and we may be able to get together, (I most likely have everything you would need except for the GPS receiver).

3. mcgyvr

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 15, 2009
    Sorry..just had to write this....
    I would call that system the "designated driver" :) I could use that on a Friday night
    I can get to the bar easy..getting home..that's a different story. :)

4. circuitbob

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 29, 2011
    Re: Bmorse, I actually live in Dimondale. How would I contact you?

5. BMorse

Sep 26, 2009
    I will PM you my number....

6. BMorse

Sep 26, 2009
    sorry to bump this thread mods,
    Did you get my PM CircuitBob? We could start the discussion of what you want done on here to get things started, and so others can maybe benefit from somethings we may come up with for your project.....

7. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010