Audio Mixer Design Enhancement Suggestions

Shalani

Joined Aug 20, 2010
Dear All,

I am currently an Electronics Major Student and I've involved myself in an Audio Mixer Design project. Our basic design consists of a crossfader, a 3-band graphic equalizer, a summing amp, voltage indicator and a buffer for the speaker.

We're using the 741 Op-amp for all of our designs. We've been banned from using IC's since the lecturers feel the need to educate us with raw components.

Thus, I was wondering if I could get recommendations on enhancements or add-ons I can add to the audio mixer. Our aim is to produce quality output and of course, as many features possible without the use of an IC.

Here's the schematic to our design if you'd like to have a closer look at the circuit.

Thanks, Looking forward to your replies!

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
We're using the 741 Op-amp for all of our designs. We've been banned from using IC's since the lecturers feel the need to educate us with raw components.
There is some inconsistency here. A 741 op amp is very old and not that great a device to work with, but it certainly is an IC.

Perhaps you can tell us what you working definition of "IC" is?

Shalani

Joined Aug 20, 2010
Whoops, sorry about that!

Here's the attachment. Thanks a lot! We'll definitely be adding LED's to our crossfader for those bonus marks =) We're actually looking for enhancements of a slightly more complex nature, any more suggestions?

Thanks so much!

Attachments

Shalani

Joined Aug 20, 2010
Well, I'm not exactly sure myself, but I'm guessing that we're not allowed to use IC's that offer additional features in comparison to the 741. However, IC's of the same level but offer better performance should be allowed. Programmable IC's unfortunately, are definitely not allowed.

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009
You can omit the buffer amplifier on the end.