Audio Circuit Power Supply Isolation

DanRilley

Joined Jan 13, 2008
Hi,

I am working on a circuit that involves an audio signal (microphone, preamp, mixing, output, etc.) as well as a motor (that drives a tape deck). My question is, what is the proper way to separate the motor circuitry and subsequent noise (it is driven by PWM) from the audio signal circuitry. As it is now, the motor noise is quite audible on the audio signal, which I assume is because they share the same ground.

I am currently taking power from an AC transformer and running it through a basic rectifier/smoothing circuit (just 4 diodes and a capacitor). Would it be sufficient to use the same AC transformer, but use two separate rectifier/smoothing circuits to create isolated grounds for the motor and audio signal?

Thanks for any help. I've been doing electronics for a few years, but am still quite new to it, and really know nothing of power supplies.

Thanks,
Dan

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Can't give much help based on that recitation. How about a schematic and maybe some pictures so we can see whats going on.

DanRilley

Joined Jan 13, 2008
OK, I have attached a quick layout of what I meant.

The audio circuit here (shown to the right) is purely hypothetical for demonstration purposes (I don't think I'd use an LM386, etc.) The point is that I am confused on how to separate the motor circuit (shown left) from the audio circuit (shown right) while keeping them both running off a single transformer (shown above).

Thanks,
Dan

Attachments

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
The first problem I see is that you are running amplifiers with unregulated voltages and you do not appear to realize the need for bypass capacitors.