audio amplifier

Deric

Joined Feb 8, 2010
I have a project i have started that is a little out of my level of competency. I am a senior mechanical engineering student, so i know a little circuits from the classes, but not a lot.

The task, i want to take a signal from the head phone jack of my phone, and amplify it enough to power a sub, mid, and tweeters.

The problem is that when i have tried to teach myself to build the filters i have found so many different variations that i dont know what one to even start with, or which is most beneficial to this application. plus, it would be nice to have some experienced people look at my layout and help me foresee any problems i may encounter.

important stuff:

phone output: 200mV 10mA
ext. power supply: 12v 20A
(1)subwoofer: 12v rated; 200W rms; 8ohms; 43-250Hz (i know the math doesnt work out, but thats from the manufacture data sheet, rockford fosgate p28s8)

(2-4)tweeters: 12v rated; 20W rms; 6ohms; 5500-20,000 Hz

mid range: undecided as of now

two middle speakers in schematic is just the mid, shown as two speakers on separate filters for now, but its just one. there will be several tweeters though. there will also be a few pots to adjust volume of different channels,

hopefully someone out there understands all this. any advice on which type of filter is best suited will be appreciated. also, any comments or suggestions to make my circuit better would be great. thank you all

SORRY ITS NOT LABELED, PHONE JACK IS CONNECTED TO THE BASE OF THE TRANSISTOR

Attachments

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
You've got a number of problems to deal with here. First of all the 741 op-amp is so outdated it isn't funny unless you enjoy no frequency response and a ton of distortion.

Looks like you're trying to tri-amp or in this case quad-amp something. A few things to remember:

Tweeters don't need much power at all to drive, 5 W RMS is often enough

Woofers need almost all the power, it takes a hefty amp for them.