audio amplifier ohms calculation

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by jatinparekh, Mar 7, 2012.

1. jatinparekh

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 2, 2012
    hello everyone
    how i can calculate or cross check that amplifier saying 6 ohms is actually giving me 6 ohms to my speakers ?
    is there any eqipments to calculate ohms?

2. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    6 ohms is not a property of the amplifier. It is the impedance of the loudspeaker.
    Most loudspeakers are 8-ohm impedance.

3. jatinparekh

Jan 2, 2012
    yes true but any way to measure if the amplifier is actuallying giving 8 ohms

4. vpoko

Jan 5, 2012
    I'm pretty new to all of this myself, but I don't think the question makes sense. Ohms is a measure of impedance, which is a property of devices through which current passes (the speakers). Amplifiers don't put out impedance, they have a certain expectation for what the speakers' impedance will be. Amplifier power is measured in watts.

5. jatinparekh

Jan 2, 2012
    actually i had the same thing on my mind but then why the amplifiers manufacturing company gives amp specification as say like 300 watts at 4 ohms

6. kubeek

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 20, 2005
    means it can output up to 300W when the speaker has 4 ohms impedance, and that the impedance should be 4ohm or higher.. If you use an 8ohm speaker, you will get lower maximal power. If you use 2 ohm speaker, you will burn the amplifier.

7. wmodavis

Oct 23, 2010
    The output impedance is of an audio amplifier is not the same as the spec'd load impedance. They are not designed for max power transfer rather for power output into a specified load resistance/impedance.

More often than not the amplifier output resistance is much lower then the load impedance and some believed the lower the output impedance the better and that led to an amplifier spec I haven't seen mentioned for many years - "damping factor". See this article.

8. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008