audio amplifier (bass amp)

hoop

Joined Nov 17, 2016
i am an audio amp tech and a customer brought me this amp and i am stumped when i turn volume up slightly i get massive distortion in the whole amplifier even at the input (1khz 200mv) and into my speakers on bench not connected to unit under test in any way except for ac line (powered speakers)
please review schematic and post suggestions and questions thank you

Attachments

Ylli

Joined Nov 13, 2015
Wow, that is one convoluted unit. In any case, if it is giving you interference/noise in a set of powered speakers not connected to the unit, and you are seeing distortion reflected all the way back to the input, then you most likely have something oscillating in the amp. Beyond that, I would need some bench space and a scope to trouble shoot further.

hoop

Joined Nov 17, 2016
Wow, that is one convoluted unit. In any case, if it is giving you interference/noise in a set of powered speakers not connected to the unit, and you are seeing distortion reflected all the way back to the input, then you most likely have something oscillating in the amp. Beyond that, I would need some bench space and a scope to trouble shoot further.
thank you for looking at it its been interesting none of the components are designated on circuit board its really difficult to navigate hopefully the manufacture will have more info for me aside from that I'm about to get out the expensive shotgun and start replacing things :)

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Begin with no input signal to the amp. Set GAIN to 0.
Turn up the VOLUME slowly until you hear the noise.
Describe the noise. Is it a high frequency noise or low frequency (60Hz maybe)?

Plug a cable into the Power Amp In socket (nothing on the other end of the cable).
Is the noise still there?

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Is anything plugged into the 'Loop send' and 'Loop return' jacks? Any positive feedback there could cause oscillation.

hoop

Joined Nov 17, 2016