audio amplifier 50 watts minimum

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by ajdizonm, Mar 1, 2010.

1. ajdizonm

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 1, 2010
    Hi. I'm Arman and I'm a student. We are required to submit a final project;

Audio Amplifier 50 watts minimum using only discrete transistors.

I planned it using class AB configuration and it still wont reach the minimum.

I use a DC Power supply +15 and -15 output...

Can somebody help me??
    start again from scratch...anyone?:(
    thanks.

2. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    What is the nature of your problem? As a hint, study difference amplifiers and operational amplifiers.

3. ajdizonm

Mar 1, 2010
    no matter how i design the circuit it wont reach 50watts power output. I use discrete transistors.BJTs

4. t06afre

AAC Fanatic!

May 11, 2009
    Try to use higer supply voltage. Can you post your design also?

5. ajdizonm

Mar 1, 2010
    [​IMG]

Here. I assume an AC Vin signal, 5v max voltage, 40khz.

6. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    40 KHz is well above the audio spectrum. have you looked at other designs for amplifiers? That should give some guidance - especially if you analyze how they operate.

7. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006
    The first rule of thumb in amplifier design is not to try and get some large gain in one step(stage). What do I mean? Well think about going from say 400 mV(RMS) at 50mA(RMS) for a power level of (0.4*0.05 = 20 mWatts) to 50 Watts. That is a gain of 10*log(50/.02) = 34 dB. That is quite a bit of gain for one stage. It will be better to get that 34 dB of gain in two or three stages.

A better approach would be two stages of say 20 dB and 14 dB or even three stages of say +14 dB, +10 dB, and +10 dB. That's my $0.02 your mileage may vary.

ajdizonm likes this.
  8. daviddeakin

Aug 6, 2009
    For a simple design like that the power output will always be limited by the supply voltage to:

P = V^2 / 2R