Audible alarm circuit with silence switch

sandstorm

Joined Aug 30, 2010
Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie here and I'd like to seek some help.

I need an alarm circuit (6-12VDC) interfaced with a 220VAC mains. The alarm circuit should set a load (relay) ON and trigger an audible alarm when the mains power is OFF. The audible alarm should be silenced/reset thru a momentary type pushbutton while the load (relay) should remain ON until the mains power has been restored.

I've devised an SCR circuit as the switching media and a transistor-based beeping alarm and a relay as loads, but I have problem silencing the alarm without disturbing the other load.

I'm not actually new to controls but basically I'm an "electromechnical relay (EMR)" guy who works on industrial motor controls and can setup the above circuit and practically any control logic thru EMR in no time.
But i'd like to "downsize" and do it in more economical way. And you guys are the best when it comes to these things.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
It's past my bed time, but here is a quickie. Assuming relay will operate on 200mA or less @ 12V. A = son-alert or other audible alarm. SW NC PB. SCR low pwr sim. 2N5060. 220V dies,triggers 555, in turn triggers SCR. PB-SW only resets A. It might work-untill proven otherwise.

Attachments

sandstorm

Joined Aug 30, 2010
Thanks Bernard. But I'm just wondering if the audible alarm will not reactivate since the PB will return to its original position (NC) hence the triac will again be triggered. Kindly note that the reset PB should be momentary type.
And for the audible alarm, I need it to be beeping since a continuous one won't give much alert compared to an "annoying" beep. Is there available piezo to do this trick or a transistor-based drive circuit is needed?
Thanks.

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008