ATX Power Supply Conversion Quiz

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Farlander, Jan 6, 2009.

1. Farlander

Thread Starter Active Member

Oct 14, 2008
    I wanted to check something before soldering. You can see where I soldered the 10W resistor between the 5V red and 0V black. This sits nicely behind the heat sink, suspended by the wires. For the connector ends, I want to use ring terminals but have to find some. Any safe/cheap way to tie these all together in some fashion that facilitates good connections?

On the right are grey, green, black, and orange. The green and black connect to the power and ground of the LED toggle switch? The orange and the grey should be connected in order to allow the unit to run properly. Could the orange/grey be connected to the center terminal of the switch?

Thnx in advance
  2. doug3460

Oct 19, 2008
    Hi Farlander -

I'm not an expert, but thought I'd try to help.:rolleyes:

Farlander wrote:
    You're using an automotive LED toggle switch that's designed for 12V systems. A couple threads below your post you'll find mine & the group's discussion on some quirks in my schematic. Foremost is the green line is not 12V. I don't think even connecting the green & ground to your switch will allow the unit to turn on - & if it does, the led propably won't light. Check it & see.

The other thing is, the GRAY wire is a POST wire (Power On Self Test). It's a 5V wire, running 10mA max. The PS will run without it connected to anything - it's there to send a signal to the motherboard in the computer that the PS has past it's check so it's safe to boot. In other words - it's function is to protect the motherboard, nothing else.