Assistance request with lab PSU adjustable V/C module/ammeter hack

Canobi

Joined Mar 4, 2015
Hi all

Started an EE course recently to plug the large gaps in my electronics knowlage base, though I have many years of practical experience and basics under my belt.

Among other interests, I have a passion for making all sorts of things, and since the course is online, it will all be done from home, including the various circuit experiments. As such, I suddenly have a need for an electronics lab.

I have a few of the very basics already like variable temp iron, couple of test meters etc, so my first port of call was to make a quick and simple regulated lab PSU.

Purely as an exercise, and as a stand in till I get/make a proper one, I went with an ATX hack as this is well trodden ground it seems and there's plenty of them out there to use as reference.

A lab PSU was a good project for me as as I happend to have a new/unopened micro ATX PSU I bought by accident, an old RS exposure box (circa 1980's_not working), and an equally old metal project box kicking around.

The exposure box became the main chassis case housing the ATX and load resistors with room to spare, and the project box was a perfect control console for the displays with room inside for other things.

To smooth things out I opted to use adjustable voltage regulator modules on each rail to give me preset voltages of: +3.3v, +5v, +12v at 2A each, and brought the -12v rail to the front for combining with any of the above rails for flexibility.

I'm now trying to setup an output rail using an adjustable V/C module to give a variable out of +0.8v to +24v and bought a duel display to go with it.

All was well until it came to hooking up the ammeter.

Firstly, I'll be getting a second V/A display as I found out what happens when one tries to use the same power line your trying to monitor (they really don't like that very much, rookie mistake).