ARM Processor job

lukied123

Joined Aug 30, 2011
I am currently working for a company that wants to develop a wireless security device that utilizes an ARM processor for motion tracking, image capture and storage. Also with the potential for License Plate Recognition. Does anyone have any idea how difficult it would be to program an ARM to do this? Also if anyone is interested in helping with this project, let me know. pleeeease help I am lost.

lukied123

Joined Aug 30, 2011
Not yet, but I am assuming it would have to be something like a ARMv7 to handle some of the specifications that my employer is looking for. I mean, we are just in the beginning stages of ideas for this device. Admittedly I'm no computer programmer or engineer. But to have enough processing power for motion detection and image capture and storage, along with the potential of license plate recognition, it would seem that this would require a fair amount of processing power right?

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
You may want to consider the ARM9. It has even higher clock speeds available than the ARM7. Internal clock speeds of between 100MHz and 200MHz are available.

I can say from my experience thus far that ARM programming is not for an entry level programmer. Be sure you give the individual responsible for programming the device as much time as possible to become familiar with the ARM device you choose.

There are many evaluations boards out there that can be purchased and used to become familair with the ARM device and the hardware and software development tools. I strongly suggest that as soon as the choice of ARM has been made that you get your hands on a demo board, a programming tool, and the software IDE that you will be using. The programmer is going to need 6 months to 12 months to become comfortable with the ARM device and the tools.

hgmjr

lukied123

Joined Aug 30, 2011