Are you professional or amateur...

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Dawud Beale, Jan 9, 2013.

1. Dawud Beale

Thread Starter Member

Feb 10, 2012
    I was wondering, as a follow up from the other discussion, how many people here are professionally involved in electrical and electronic engineering, i.e. they perform some sort of task for money e.g. PLC's, electronics (embedded systems, digital, analogue etc), power engineering, network design etc, and how many do it totally for fun and don't get paid anyting for their electronics projects and what occupations to those people have just out if interest?

2. Metalmann

Dec 8, 2012
    I would consider myself a "Severe Amateur". But, I'm learning.;)

Thanks to these guys!

Dawud Beale likes this.
  3. Brownout

Jan 10, 2012
    I'm a degreed engineer, working in FPGA development. Electronics is my hobby also. For the record, here are some of my other hobbies:
    Sailing
    Home Improvment/Construction
    Motorcycling
    Camping
    Backyard Cooking

Dawud Beale likes this.
  4. loosewire

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 25, 2008
    Professional here ,also income per.......

Selling self to business exc's

Selling self to public

Selling self to government

Selling self to peers

Selected from peers

Showing public ability in competition

Debating A.A.C. members

Documented

Last edited: Jan 9, 2013
  5. nerdegutta

Dec 15, 2009
    I'm a professional amateur. :)

6. gerty

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 30, 2007
    Well, I teach Electronics and Industrial Electricity, post secondary which would make me professional....But sometimes I run into stuff that makes me feel amateur :eek:

And, yes it's my hobby..

7. t06afre

AAC Fanatic!

May 11, 2009
    I see....you must be a pro:p

8. thatoneguy

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2009
    Professional High Speed Digital (I've forgotten a ton of analog tricks :( )
    Current Hobbies (very seasonal or spotty, hence the list):