Arduino

jerseyguy1996

Joined Feb 2, 2008
I was thinking about getting one of these to play around with. I have never used a microcontroller before and other than being able to construct a circuit using a schematic, I don't understand electronics very well. How many people have played around with one of these before and what was your experience?

mrmeval

Joined Jun 30, 2006
I have one and it works well. You will need to learn more about electronics to hook up various devices. You will also need to learn the limited subset of C language it uses. There is a large volume of help available.
http://www.arduino.cc and http://www.freeduino.org

I'm currently trying to get an LCD working but have a lack of time to get to it.

I did expand the I/O so I could drive 16 LEDs. This proved I could drive any 16 devices I choose from 16 LEDs to 16 motors to 16 strings of xmas lights or any combination. I can do more than 16 if I add more expansion but the programming gets a little more complex and I didn't need to.

Steppers and motor drivers are pretty mature with the device. There's ultrasonic and other sensors available which people have figured out how to use with the arduino.

Serial flash ram can be hooked up as can any SPI device.

You don't have to buy the arduino per se, there are others out there that work with the software. There's boarduino http://www.moderndevice.com/RBBB.html and Ladyada's http://www.ladyada.net/make/boarduino/ offerings. These save money once you've gotten your design complete and want to make a more permanent one or make more than one.

jerseyguy1996

Joined Feb 2, 2008