Arduino vs. PIC

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by jellybird, May 6, 2012.

1. jellybird

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 20, 2012
    I'm fairly new to microcontrollers but I would like to invest in one of the aforementioned. I've used Arduino in the past for a school project and found it pretty easy to get started but I wonder if PIC might be a better choice for me after reading a few posts on the forums here.

Regarding PIC, I like the idea of the programmer being the main cost and the microcontrollers themselves being reasonably priced. By that I mean if I purchase one arduino, i can only have use it with 1 project at a time. Correct me if I'm wrong here.

Is there a steeper learning curve for the PIC? and is the PIC more "industry applicable"?. Are they both programmed in C? I just graduated BSEE and I have a little more time to myself so I'd like to get my hands dirty with some of my own projects.

Sorry for all the questions at once but I'd really appreciate if anyone shed some light for me.

2. Drok

May 6, 2012