1. rafaelluizmesquita

Thread Starter Member

Aug 8, 2013
    Hey guys...

I'm looking for a hobby that can maybe help me in my work. I thought in buy one of those Arduino starter kits. I'm a physicist and work with atmospheric related experiments. So in the long term I wanted to combine the hobby with the work.

Well. What do you guys suggest for me? I was thinking in build like... thermometers, humidity sensors, stepper motors. Those sort of things.

Thanks

Rafael mesquita

2. Shagas

May 13, 2013
    If you want to make those kinds of things then microcontrollers are a good thing to learn.
    Arduino is a platform and is a very good starting point because it will let you program things in C language easily without having to learn the details of the microcontrollers themselves.

I'd also advise to learn basics of analog electronics , things like ohms law and components basics because you will be interfacing the arduino (and any microcontroller) to the real world which is analog so you should know your way around.

This forum has tutorials , you can also find tutorials on youtube and tonnes of other sites.

3. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011
    Hey. That's a good list. But in case you want to know what's going on add in some sort of display. I like the alphanumeric LCD types that run between 2 lines of 8 characters to 4 lines of 20 characters (other sizes also can be found).

There's also some nice color graphic screens, touch also available.

I don't use the Arduino platforms so I have nothing specific to add there.

4. Potato Pudding

Jun 11, 2010
    One of the better sources for people to use when trying out Arduino would be the Jeremy Blum videos.

I think these in particular will help you, look through them all to build your interest but the ones on the bottom of the list are going to be the ones to start with.

Data Logger

Wireless Communications

Serial Peripheral Interface example with a digital potentiometer.