Arduino project: use mosfet or tip122 (and why, or why not)

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Rascal, Jan 2, 2015.

1. Rascal

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 2, 2015
    This is my first post here. I'm new to hobby electronics and have a question about a project I'm about to build. I'm going to build an Arduino project that will drive an LED strip. Since the Arduino runs on 5v, and the LED strip on 12v the directions call for a TIP122 transistor to switch the LED strip. I happened on an article that seemed to call for a MOSFET instead of the TIP122 but I'm not sure the applications are the same. I'm not only looking for an answer, I would like to understand why or why not to use either component. I did look this up in the textbook section but the material is over my head at this point.

If the MOSFET is the correct (or better) component to use, how would this change the circuit, or would it?

FLSR5D0HZ9O2AF4.MEDIUM.jpg

The project is an instructable at http://www.instructables.com/id/Under-the-bed-nightlight/?ALLSTEPS

2. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009
    If you are starting with an Arduino Port Pin that switches from ~0V to ~5V under program control, then either an NFET or an NPN Darlington will work. Either could switch up to >40V (depends on the rating of the NFET or NPND), up to 10s of Amps. The NFET required is a "logic Gate NFET", so be careful when specifying one.

At a load current >2A, the NFET has an advantange in that it will produce less heat than the Darlington. You might have to mount the Darlington on a heat sink, while the NFET might be usable in free air without a heat sink.

If you reduce the Arduino supply voltage to 3.3V, then the Darlington has an advantage. There are fewer NFETs that turn on properly with only 3.3V on their Gate, while it only takes a current-limited Vbe of ~1.5V to turn on the Darlington.

billwall and Rascal like this.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010