Arduino as cycle timer with LCD?

GRNDPNDR

Joined Mar 1, 2012
I've got a "small" project I'd like to start working on, but before I do I thought I would check with some more knowledgeable people to see if and how it could be done.

I'm in need of a cycle timer and I wanted to do the job with an arduino and an LCD.

The cycle timer part is easy enough, I already have some code that should work, but I'm not a programmer and I wanted something a little more "fancy".

I want to get an LCD display for the Arduino and be able to change the cycle times on the fly without having to reupload more code and essentially stopping the system while that's happening.

Being that I'm an Arduino n00b, I'm hoping some of you kind folk could assist me with this project.... OR point me to a similar off the shelf cycle timer with an LCD display, as I haven't been able to locate one yet.

elec_mech

Joined Nov 12, 2008
I'm not sure what a cycle timer is or what you're looking for exactly. If you're asking how to add an LCD to an Arduino with a minimum of programming and wiring, then I'd suggest a 1-wire serial LCD. Sparkfun sells a bunch here. eBay sells several varieties, but I'd avoid those as most are really I2C or SPI port expanders and still require a lot of programming to make work.

GRNDPNDR

Joined Mar 1, 2012
I guess I should have specified what a cycle timer is instead of assuming everyone knows. It's a small timer that will activate a relay for a set amount of time and leave it off for a set amount of time.... so like 10 secs on, 3 minutes off.
http://www.amazon.com/CanaKit-UK670CY-Cyclic-Digital-Assembled/dp/B005UTBUDC

I bought this to play around with, http://www.dfrobot.com/index.php?route=product/product&path=35_124&product_id=51

so I'd like to slap that onto my arduino and program a cycle timer that will let me use the lcd shield to set on and off times without having to change the code, reupload and test the timing that way.

elec_mech

Joined Nov 12, 2008