Aquarium LED light design (some beginner questions)

Kaisha

Joined Nov 23, 2016
Beginner/noob hobbyist here. I've completed a few smaller arduino projects (temperature sensor monitoring of my aquarium, controlling pumps with relays/water level sensors, simple things like that) with success and am now looking to attempt something a little harder. My background is in computer science/programming, so the software side is trivial, but the electronics... well I still have far too much to learn. So feel free to correct any mistakes, or suggest alternatives that would seem otherwise obvious to someone who has a hardware background. I also apologize in advance for mistakes I'm sure to make.

I've looked online for similar projects, but I'd like to do things a bit differently than the usual aquarium led light (which is why I feel a post here is warranted). I'm looking to create a pendant style led light for my aquarium. I plan to control it with an arduino, and I would like anywhere from 8-12 independent pwm channels. I'm going to be running a number of different led colors (full spectrum from almost infrared to almost uv, and everything in between), and I'd like to be able to fine tune the color (and eventually, once the hardware is working, write software to adjust the color continuously over the course of the day). Since these will be on continuously throughout the day, I'd like to avoid resisters/linear regulators for led power management. The idea is once I build one that works, I can then build a few more (depending on how much lighting I need in the aquarium). There were two ideas I had in mind.

The 1st is to use 3w leds, 1 led for each channel. The idea is to drive the leds with a single constant current power source (perhaps something like the Meanwell LDD) and wire them in series. I could then (at least theoretically) turn the individual leds on and off using a transistor as a bypass. Something like this diagram:
Aquarium-Lights.png