appropriate DC motors to fit to a manual wheelchair

guskenny83

Joined Apr 23, 2010
hello, i posted this to the projects forum already, so apologies if posting here also is not allowed, but ive had 66 views on the other forum but no replies, so i thought i'd have more luck here..

Hi,

im currently in my final year of a mechanical engineering degree and our final year project is to design and build a smart electric wheelchair, capable of being controlled by a person using only finger movements.

we have developed the control system using an arduino micro-controller, and integrated it successfully into a small-scale robot using two small 12V motors utilising a differential drive method of motion control, and a motor driver based on the L298N chipset from rcubestation.com:

http://www.rcubestation.com/r3cart/i...&product_id=75

my question is about the best way to now advance the project to a full-scale wheelchair.

having a mostly mechanical background, we have not covered that much material on DC motors, so i am looking for advice on the kinds of motors we should be looking to buy for this application, what kind of drivers we should use (im assuming the L298N is not going to be powerful enough) and any general advice people can give on motor attachment or any other aspect to do with the project.

As this project is not actually going to used by a disabled person for extended periods of time, and cost is a very large factor (we are only 2 poor uni students); the more economical, the better.

any information would be greatly appreciated

thanks
gus

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
The remenants of an electric wheel chair had 2- 22V 250W motors with ? 7:1 gear reduction, & 10 in wheels. Rated @ 15 mph with 300 lb load. More than enough power. Homemaid control, 2 slide pots, manual rev. SW. 3 parallel MOSFETs each motor, PWM speed control. Was prone to blow FETs if speed advanced too fast- even with current control. Second version was never built.

Rbeckett