Any Advice?

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by arios0, Apr 7, 2010.

1. arios0

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 7, 2010
    I am a Computer Science student and have knowledge in C and asm. I want to start toying with Microcontrollers. However, I only have a very basic knowledge of electronics. I know things like ohms law, truth tables, etc. That is only very basic electronic knowledge. Would I need to study electronics in more detail before I could make anything useful with a microcontroller?

I am sorry for the newbish question.
  2. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
    I'd just go for it. A lot of the time microcontrollers are used to replace complex circuits and anything you need you can learn as you go along.
  3. PRS

Aug 24, 2008
    Take a class in Microprocessor Systems Design. I've noticed certain books written for amateurs that focus on one set of chips. These books are probably the fastest way to get started on it. There is one chip called the BASIC STAMP that looks easy to learn and use. It's capabilities are more limited than PICS; but then, Rome wasn't built in a day either. Good luck! :)
  4. arios0

Apr 7, 2010
    Thanks for the advice so far. I would rather not program in basic. I am pretty well versed in C and have a good knowledge of x86 assembler I don't want to be limited with what I want to do because of an easier programming language. The things that kind of concern me is the ability to connect a pic to things other than a pre built development board.
  5. rjenkins

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 6, 2005
    Look at the 'Pickit 2' programmer.

That connects to a six pin header you add to whatever PIC gadget you build and allows in circuit programming, single stepping of programs, watching registers and memory etc. all from within the (free) MPLab programming software.

There are a few C compilers you can get that integrate with MPLab, varying from free to moderate prices.
  6. hgmjr

Jan 28, 2005