antenna

PackratKing

Joined Jul 13, 2008
I ran across one of the long-tall " whip " CB antennas, oft seen in the heyday of CB,

The guy at the garage sale, told me it had been in 4 successive sales, unsold. and since I displayed an interest he gave it to me just to be rid of it..

As I understand, it is a " 1/4 wave " ? unit... Any opinion out there as to how efficient these are / were ?

It only has a wee bit of rust on the mount stud, and where the cable hooks, appears decent..

Is that large spring at the base just for flexibility, or does it serve also as a *loading coil*...

Yep... I am a relative amateur at this stuff :D

Edit : Pictures of my chopped leads on the CB are pending

inwo

Joined Nov 7, 2013
Very good antenna. Big is good. I believe they were full quarter wave. A good match to 50ohm feed.

Problem was mounting. Best on the roof. Not too practical.

The one I remember had a braided cu. jumper inside the spring.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
One quarter wavelength at 11 meters would be 108 inches. It is a very efficient radiator when mounted to the car body as the counterpoise, and is omni-directional.

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
I worked for Radio-Shack part time during the CB craze in the 70's installing and testing antennas. (mainly for truckers) I've seen almost every crazy install of the 1/4 whip including one in the center of the roof of a truck. It worked really well for CB and for breaking every overhead fluorescent light tube at a truck stop roof. :p

I still keep a radio for hunting in the boonies here, It's got a magnetic mount loaded coil model that I keep in the truck for emergencies when out of cell range. There's still lots of activity on the bands.
https://flic.kr/p/dYvm98

JMW

Joined Nov 21, 2011