Another H bridge question (L298N)

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by cornishlad, Jul 1, 2015.

1. cornishlad

Thread Starter Member

Jul 31, 2013
    I have made a pendulum clock that has a 90Ms output pulse every second. I need to make it drive a slave dial that requires a pulse every second of alternating polarity. The pulse current required is about 200Ma. Series resistance can be applied to suit voltages above what the dial actually requires.
    I have zero experience with H bridges but think that's what i need. I have been looking at eBay for a suitable module. One comes up multiple times and uses an L298N chip. I've attached the schematic from one ad.
    From the description:
    When ENA enable IN1 IN2 control OUT1 OUT2
    When ENB enable IN3 IN4 control OUT3 OUT4

Initially I would only need one channel. The clock dial could be put where the motor is and ENA is presumably put High?
    Then, If I feed in identically timed logic pulses of opposite phase into IN1,IN2 do I get the same from OUT1,OUT2 but with power from Vs to drive motors (or clocks in this case). Is that how they work ? Or is there something more suitable? Or any other advice appreciated.. hbridgemodule.png

2. tracecom

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 16, 2010
    I think there may be an easier solution that doesn't require an H-bridge. Why can't you just add a flip-flop to the output of your 90Ms clock, followed by a transistor circuit to provide the 200mA?

3. cornishlad

Thread Starter Member

Jul 31, 2013
    Thanks for that but I would need some more info on that solution.
    In case I haven't described the problem properly, assume the clock drive coil has two terminals A and B. Assume single 5v supply.Assume 30 seconds between drive pulses.
    First, A must be +5v and B 0v then, 30 seconds later, A must be 0v and B +5volts....repeating, ad finitum.
    EDIT" 30 seconds later" should read " second 1 second later". Apologies for error..

Last edited: Jul 1, 2015
  4. tracecom