Another coop door opener - verification of circuit wanted

Dumpster

Joined Feb 10, 2015
Hi, this is my first post.

I have been working on a mechanism for automatically opening the door to our chicken shed (normal door) for the last couple of weeks and think that it is finally there. It is working on a breadboard, but before I commit it to stripboard, I was wondering if some kind person who has more knowledge than me, could give it a look over to see if there are any potential problems, or missing items. I know for instance that I am not very good at putting in stabilising capacitors etc.

I haven't got very good resources for parts where I live, so am a bit limited. The schmitt chip and ldr are out of a night light I bought at a boot sale (yard sale in US?) so was the 6v electric screwdriver which will open the door. The whole thing has to run off an old moped battery, so had to consume the least amount of power possible.

Thank you in advance

Attachments

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Use a cmos 555 instead of the bipolar one. That will reduce the quiescent current.

Your relay switch(es) are not up to the task. The BC548 is only a NPN that is rated for 100mA. Even if it was rated for the relay coil current, the base drive through the 10K is much, much too low. This is an application crying for NFETs.

I would use only a single relay driver, and rig it so that the AND logic is done on the gate. The CMOS circuits up stream can drive the gates of a NFET relay and motor driver.

Last edited:

Dumpster

Joined Feb 10, 2015
Use a cmos 555 instead of the bipolar one. That will reduce the quiescent current.

Your relay switch(es) are not up to the task. The BC548 is only a NPN that is rated for 100mA. Even if it was rated for the relay coil current, the base drive through the 10K is much, much too low. This is an application crying for NFETs.