Analog foundations of digital electronics clear as mud

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by odenskrigare, Apr 19, 2010.

1. odenskrigare

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 19, 2010
    I self-taught a fair amount of digital and a bit of analog circuits. The very computational part (e.g., put in two ones, get out a zero) which is what they have in digital logic texts is easy for me but at the more primitive level I am having a much harder time. See here for instance:

http://www.eng.utah.edu/~cs6710/handouts/AppendixB/appendixB.doc3.html

See the first diagram therein

"A high voltage at the base turns on the transistor. The output F is discharged to ground, getting close to 0 V but never quite reaching it (it reaches a voltage drop away from 0 V).

When a low voltage is placed on the base, the transistor is turned off. The output node F is charged up toward the power supply voltage through the pull-up/load resistor R1."

Could someone please clarify the bolded phrases for me? Furthermore, what is F exactly? Is it a wire that leads to ground? Is it just a point where you would attach one lead of a voltmeter or similar component, and connect the other to ground, thereby measuring the output?

2. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
  3. kingdano

Apr 14, 2010
    "A high voltage at the base turns on the transistor. The output F is discharged to ground, getting close to 0 V but never quite reaching it (it reaches a voltage drop away from 0 V).

When a low voltage is placed on the base, the transistor is turned off. The output node F is charged up toward the power supply voltage through the pull-up/load resistor R1."

1. To be clear - 'F' here is simply denoting the output signal - much like you would have on a logic gate. Your second guess is essentially correct, but you wouldn't need to connect a voltmeter necessarily - any device accepting the output voltage level could be connected.

2. What the first bolded statement is saying is this: