An array name as a constant pointer to the first element of the array Please explain

Discussion in 'Programmer's Corner' started by integral, Jun 27, 2011.

1. integral

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 19, 2010
    The book I am studying from makes the following two statements:

1. The array name (without a subscript) is a (constant) pointer to the first element of the array.

2. The name of an array is actually the address in memory of the first element of the array.

When I run the following program:
    Code ( (Unknown Language)):
    1. #include <iostream>
    2. using namespace std;
    4. int main()
    5. {
    6.     int b[5] = {11, 22, 33, 44, 55};
    7.     const int *bPtr =  b;
    9.     //Part 1
    10.     cout << "Part 1" << endl;
    11. [COLOR=Red]    cout << "b  = " << b << endl;
    12.     cout << "&b = " << &b << endl;[/COLOR]
    13.     cout << "*b = " << *b << endl;
    15.     cout << endl;
    18.     //Part 2
    19.     cout << "Part 2" << endl;
    20.     cout << "bPtr  = " << bPtr << endl;
    21.     cout << "&bPtr = " << &bPtr << endl;
    22.     cout << "*bPtr = " << *bPtr << endl;
    24.     return 0;
    25. }
    I get the following result:

Code ( (Unknown Language)):
    1. Part 1
    2. [COLOR=Red]b  = 0023FEAC
    3. &b = 0023FEAC[/COLOR]
    4. *b = 11
    6. Part 2
    7. bPtr  = 0023FEAC
    8. &bPtr = 0023FEA8
    9. *bPtr = 11
    10. Press any key to continue . . .
    I don't understand why the lines in red above produce the same output. I understand why b = 0023FEAC but why does &b = 0023FEAC ? If my understanding of pointers is correct, it seems like it is a pointer pointing to itself.

2. someonesdad

Jul 7, 2009