Amplifying Signals generated from phone

Mozee

Joined Jul 23, 2016
I am trying to build an amplification circuit to amplify signals generated from a function generator application by a smartphone so that the signal is powerfull enough say 10volts and 2A in such a way that the wave form doesn't change (a small change won't kill me though).I am still new to op-amps so bear with me please.

I read something about push pull transistor configuration to draw current to feed the powered signal. I will appreciate it if someone could suggest a proper circuit for my needs keeping in mind that the signal source is a smartphone which needs protection against voltages(currents) flowing to its audio jack.
Also, I would like to ask, If I used an audio amplifier circuit and injected the signal, would it work like that? If so, How can i protect my phone?
How would Darlington power transistors help me in this circuit (because I have them laying around).

Please bear with me and thanks in advance

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
If you want to build a circuit from scratch, there are a ton of amplifier schematics on the innergoogle. Or you can buy an audio amplifier module on ebay.
1. What is the shape (sinewave, squarewave, etc.) and frequency range of the signal you want to amplify?
2. What is the load the amplified signal is to drive?
3. Yes, an audio amplifier should work like that. The most common problem is not connecting the phone's signal wires correctly. There are pre-made adapter cables you can buy for connecting a phone to an audio system.

ak

Mozee

Joined Jul 23, 2016
Hey Ak, thanks for the reply
The android app called Function Generator can produces sine, square and saw teeth wave shapes therefore those are to be amplified. The wiring is already done easy and simple.
Frequency range would basically be the audiable range but the higher the frequency the better the circuit serving my needs.