Amplifying Photodiodes - Op-Amp's

circdesoleil

Joined Dec 3, 2013
Hey all,

I'm new to the forums but I've been browsing the website for a few years now (ever since I started college :) ) and it has come in handy too many times to count. Anyways, I'm a electrical engineering student working on a senior design project (with a semester left to go) and I have some questions that I can't seem to get answered despite asking senior engineers and lots of google searches. I still have much to learn... :)

My senior design project is detecting very small holes (micron size) using IR emitters and detectors. Right now I am trying to design the op-amp amplification stage. Our received signal is on the nanoampere scale and we need to amplify this signal up to mV levels. I am thinking a TIA (transimpedance amplifier) would work well.

My question is, needing a gain of about 1 million, what's the highest frequency of pulsed light that an op amp could amplify at 1 million gain?

I have seen op-amp's with GBW of 10ghz but at 1 million gain, the highest frequency that could be used is 10khz. Is this a correct assumption?

Is there a way to have, say, a 100khz signal amplified at 1 million gain?

I hope that's not too many questions. I'm still trying to wrap my head around TIA design, op-amp characteristics, and photodiode specs and its all a bit overwhelming.

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012
The first thing I would do is hit the application notes from a manufacturer of high end op amps such as Analog Devices. Others might be TI/BurrBrown/National Semiconductor, Maxim, etc.

The apnotes will cover principles to know and suggest circuits and particular parts. Most if not all of your questions should be answered with a little research there.

I am thinking a TIA (transimpedance amplifier) would work well.
Analog Devices agrees! See the link and check out the nifty circuit calculator.

I am having difficulty with this part. Amperes are for current. Volts are for voltage.