amplifying DC signal - BJT?

edgetrigger

Joined Dec 19, 2010
I want to use a BJT for amplifying DC dignal, say a signal of 10mv originating from a sensor like PT100, here both the sensor and the transitor is powered by a single dc supply. A coupling capacitor wouldn't help as i want to amplify steady state dc signals.

It is very easy to amplify dc siganls using op-amps but i am not able to figure out how to do it with a single transistor.

I graduated with a decent score in engineering today i feel like surrendering my degree back to the university. I am not in a postion to simply crack this task.:mad:

steveb

Joined Jul 3, 2008
I graduated with a decent score in engineering today i feel like surrendering my degree back to the university. I am not in a postion to simply crack this task.:mad:
Don't feel bad. It's not an easy task. Actually, unless you specify constraints on what defines a good measurement, it's impossible. This example is one of many reasons why OPAMPS were invented. Why do you need to do it with one transistor? Why wouldn't you use the OPAMP?

Adjuster

Joined Dec 26, 2010
You should simply be thankful that good inexpensive IC amplifiers are available these days - they make life a lot simpler.

It is of course possible to make discrete transistor DC amplifiers, and before suitable ICs were available this had to be done. That said, the kind of simple unbalanced amplifier that is satisfactory for AC signals would have poor temperature drift if used for DC. Normally some sort of differential (long-tailed) pair amplifier would be used to reduce drift, unfortunately, even with selected matched transistors, the balance is unlikely to be as good as it could be in an integrated amplifier.

edgetrigger

Joined Dec 19, 2010
Why do you need to do it with one transistor? Why wouldn't you use the OPAMP?