Amplifiers! Who can help?

Ross44

Joined Aug 11, 2013
hi ALL,
ive been stuck for a very long time on these 2 questions for a long time. there just revision questions.
As i have very little knowledge about amps. I would appreciate some help as i feel hopeless. I do NOT expect you guys to answer for me of course since this is homework help section but would like if you could start me of with the right formula and possibly a little information on amps. but mainly help me understand how i can get the correct answer so i can do it myself.

Thanks a million!

1.Three amplifiers are cascaded together. The first stage has a voltage gain of 16 dB and the third stage has a voltage gain of 13 dB. An input signal of 15.5 mV (ptp) results in an output from the third stage of the cascaded amplifier of
2.2 V (ptp), the voltage gain in dB of the second stage is;

A. 12
B. 14
C. 16
D. 18
E. None of the above

2.A circuit consists of two amplifiers with gain 16 dB and 14 dB and a filter with attenuations of -10 dB. If the output voltage is 80 mV, the input voltage is;

A. 4 mV
B. 6 mV
C. 8 mV
D. 10 mV
E. None of the above

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Q1) What does dB mean?

Q2) If you are told that an amplifier has a gain of 10dB, what does that tell you?

Q3) Given an input voltage and an output voltage (and assuming a linear amplifier), what is the gain of the amplifier, in dB, in terms of Vout and Vin?

Q4) How do gains combine when the output of one amplifier is applied as the input signal to another?

Answer these as best you can, and we can get you started on the right page and proceed from there.

Ross44

Joined Aug 11, 2013
Q1) What does dB mean?

Q2) If you are told that an amplifier has a gain of 10dB, what does that tell you?

Q3) Given an input voltage and an output voltage (and assuming a linear amplifier), what is the gain of the amplifier, in dB, in terms of Vout and Vin?