AM transmitter

Status
Not open for further replies.

peter_morley

Joined Mar 12, 2011
Here is a link to the project I was considering...http://www.sciencebuddies.org/science-fair-projects/project_ideas/Elec_p024.shtml
What I wan't to do with it is keep everything intact except the oscillator. Instead of an oscillator I want to use a 555 timer with a pot so I can adjust the frequency being transmitted. If you look at the schematic attached this is what I have done. I know there are limitations to the 555 timer such as max output current can only be 200mA. So would this modification work?...this is my first time doing radio signals so I'm a bit confused as to what is happening.

Attachments

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
Yes, that will sort of work. Except your resistor values are too low. Using a 100 ohm resistor for RA might cause some smoke, or at least put too much demand on the chip's current sinking ability. A frequency modulated version of the circuit (modulation applied to pin 5, and the power fully fixed) that somebody sent me uses a .001 uf capacitor, a 390 ohm resistor to V+ and a 1k resistor between pins 6 and 7, and ran it from +9 to +12 volts.

If your modulating signal is voice, you might even be able to understand what is being said. Do not connect this to a very long antenna because this is certain to radiate signals out of the AM broadcast band, and that might be bad.

If you are in the U.S., you can transmit on the AM band if your power input to the final RF stage is is 1/10 watt or less and your antenna ls 3 meters long or shorter, and the harmonics are suppressed (can't remember 30 or 40 db) -your harmonics will be beyond spec, hence the warning not to connect to much of an antenna.

It looks like a fun first RF project, but don't expect a lot from it, and move on to a "cleaner" circuit soon!

Last edited:

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011