Aluminum battery from Stanford offers safe alternative to conventional batteries

LDC3

Joined Apr 27, 2013
Really interesting. I wonder what's "wrong" with it.
Currently, only one lab has working batteries.
They probably have patents since they released a news brief.
There will probably be some government red tape to cut through to be able to sell the batteries.
They need to create a company to fabricate the batteries (since nobody want to pay royalties).

I expect about 5 years before the batteries are on the shelves.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I've read papers showing that so-called pessimists are right far more often than optimists. It doesn't have to be discouraging to recognize reality. Embrace it! Optimism has its place, but it's a poor substitute for accuracy.

I worked in the business of moving biotechnology from the lab bench to the market, and I can tell you that 5 years for a technology of this magnitude would be nearly a miracle. Manufacturing, regulatory, legal - lots of challenges every way you turn.

cmartinez

Joined Jan 17, 2007
I've read papers showing that so-called pessimists are right far more often than optimists. It doesn't have to be discouraging to recognize reality. Embrace it! Optimism has its place, but it's a poor substitute for accuracy.
I agree... there's the pessimist, the optimist and then there's the skeptical... I consider myself a mixture of the the latter two groups.
Though, as you're implying, pessimism has its place too.

"I like pessimists. They're always the ones who bring lifejackets for the boat" - Lisa Kleypas