Alternator + Solar to charge battery, Inverter to use charge on electronics

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by sanforce, Nov 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sanforce

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 4, 2013
    Hi everyone. I work in the oil and gas industry and I'm currently setting up my truck shell as a camper. I would like to wire a battery bank in parallel with my car battery to receive a charge while the engine is on and a solar solution as a backup or alternate charge source in order to power lights/electronics in the field. Right now I carry numerous backup batteries for my laptop and can charge via a built in inverter when my truck engine is running.

I have a basic understanding of circuitry from college, but I lack the ability to design a system, pick out appropriate parts, etc.

This project is 100% for fun and as a practical circuitry learning experience. I know there are other options (i.e. a small generator), but I'd really like to stick to my engine + alternator and solar if possible!

These are the setups that I currently have in mind:
    [​IMG]
    &
    [​IMG]

Any help that you can provide to get me closer to my goal will be greatly appreciated!

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Is it really necessary to keep the batteries separated, for instance by the switch in your first diagram? That's a problem when the batteries are not in perfect balance, there will be a sudden large current when they are connected. You could mitigate this by placing a current-limiting light bulb in series with the switch, but personally I think it would be better to keep all the batteries in parallel.

Perhaps a diode between them to only allow current to flow towards the car battery, never out. But then the alternator could not charge the other bank.

3. sanforce

Nov 4, 2013