Alternate Circuits

OmarAlMansoori

Joined Oct 13, 2014
Hello!
I'm new to this forum and I'm fairly new to the world behind the world of electronics. I am at the most a beginner, I only have high-school based knowledge around creating circuits so bare with me.

I'll get to the point. My project revolves around two circuits, and I'm having some technical issues.
They are two circuits, one of which is a normal series circuit with a normal (single) load that looks like this (Child's play, I know).

I don't really know how to describe the second circuit, lets just say it looks something like this:

(BTW, I'm using iCircuit on mac, I have no idea how effective it is, the current amounts are always petty)

Here's My problem:
Let's call the first series circuit (Circuit A) and the second one -in the image- (Circuit B)
I want it to work so that as soon as circuit B is closed, that is the second part of it, (when the SCR is allowing current to flow from the Anode to the Cathode), Circuit A is cut and stops, and the load is no longer functioning. I thought about using a PNP transistor but I think that that won't work like I need it to.
I also wanted Circuit B to only work as long as circuit A is closed, I have considered using a NPN transistor, however I haven't a clue how to let the current reach it.
When I try putting the NPN on that activation part of circuit B around where the 300 resistor is, it just renders the whole circuit inoperable.
When I try putting a PNP transistor onto Circuit A it just ends up cutting the circuit.

Please help, I have limited knowledge beyond basic series and parallel circuits.
Keep in my mind that my circuit has to be DC as I intend on using a battery to power it.
Also, I'd rather not get into technicalities beyond connecting circuits like programming and such (if such a way exists) as that will create a ton more of complications for me.

Many Thanks!