All-in-1 electronic lab gives steps, explains nothing

darchangel

Joined Jan 4, 2008
I'm a programmer who recently got the itch to start dabbling in circuitry and basic electronics. I bought one of those all-in-1 electronic kits where there are components on a board with springs where you can connect wires (specifically Maxitronix Electronic Lab 75 in 1). It comes with a book telling you how to do a lot of stuff with it but there's little to no explanation about WHY they did things the way they did. In every diagram, I'm asking myself: Why a resistor there? Why do they use a resistor or capacitor of X instead of one with a different value? Why do they use 4 AA batteries in this project and only 2 in that one?

Not only is it intensely frustrating, I also don't yet know enough to phrase my questions intelligently.

Is there somewhere to find some of these rules of thumb? For example, unlike the resistors and capacitors, none of the LEDs or transistors have any numbers/ratings associated with them. How do you know how much or little current to allow at any given place? I'm open to any/all advice that one can give a novice.

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
I'm a programmer who recently got the itch to start dabbling in circuitry and basic electronics. I bought one of those all-in-1 electronic kits where there are components on a board with springs where you can connect wires (specifically Maxitronix Electronic Lab 75 in 1). It comes with a book telling you how to do a lot of stuff with it but there's little to no explanation about WHY they did things the way they did. In every diagram, I'm asking myself: Why a resistor there? Why do they use a resistor or capacitor of X instead of one with a different value? Why do they use 4 AA batteries in this project and only 2 in that one?

Not only is it intensely frustrating, I also don't yet know enough to phrase my questions intelligently.