Aged polyurethane

cmartinez

Joined Jan 17, 2007
I've been using Berg's products for many years now, and I've noticed that all of the samples (which are at least 12 to 15 years old) I own of their polyurethane chains have softened with time, and are very easy to mar and take apart by just digging my nails on them... they almost feel like hardened wax to me ...
I hadn't noticed that before because in time I've had to replace all of the chains in my machines due to normal wear and tear. But it still leaves me thinking about the expected lifespan of any product manufactured with this material.
Is this a normal thing with polyurethane?

@jpanhalt, @GopherT

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
I've been using Berg's products for many years now, and I've noticed that all of the samples (which are at least 12 to 15 years old) I own of their polyurethane chains have softened with time, and are very easy to mar and take apart by just digging my nails on them... they almost feel like hardened wax to me ...
I hadn't noticed that before because in time I've had to replace all of the chains in my machines due to normal wear and tear. But it still leaves me thinking about the expected lifespan of any product manufactured with this material.
Is this a normal thing with polyurethane?

@jpanhalt, @GopherT
"Polyurethane" is an unusual material compared to most polymers. Post polymers repeat with the same unit over and over - and manufacurers achieve different properties (different 'grades') by varying the length of the chains during the polymerization. Then the polymer is processed into a part by molding, extruding etc.

In the case of polyurethane, the basic building blocks are "isocyanate" and "polyol". These are mixed as they are injected into a mold. They react in the mold to make the polymer.