After 16 years in aerospace - I'm finally moving on.

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by tindel, Jul 2, 2015.

1. tindel

Thread Starter Active Member

Sep 16, 2012
    Put my 2 weeks(ish) notice in on Tuesday. I asked my company to keep it quiet and let me slip out the door. But I still want to talk about it a bit so here we go.

I started with Lockheed Martin in 1998 as a high school intern scanning in pictures of moon rocks. That led to a sub-contracted tech job through LM in a class 10 clean room on a solar mission called Genesis while I worked on my BSEE. I spent the year before I graduated at Jacobs Sverdrup resupplying the Shuttle and Space Station with biomed hardware supplies (bicycle and treadmill parts mostly). After graduating, I took a full-time EE job at LM in Denver working ground support equipment on Orion - the next manned spacecraft. For the last 7 years or so I have been working on deep space missions. Juno - a orbiter mission to Jupiter, MAVEN - a orbiter mission to Mars, and most recently InSight - a equatorial landed mission to Mars.

More specifically, for InSight, I designed the solar array and battery charge control module. That was my first real design job, and will probably be my crowning achievement of my career. I spent 2.5 years designing this circuit board. It had multiple interfaces, was mixed signal, high power control, low quiescent power, multiple operation modes, on-card power, telemetry, and multiple safety features. It required that I work with Thermal, Mechanical, Layout, Technicians, Management, Scheduling, Systems, Stress, EMI/EMC, Ground Support, Test Engineering, and Manufacturing to be able to balance corporate policies, physics, and style to produce a perfect card. Very complex beast. I don't think anyone else at LM could have done that job and it is the heart of the spacecraft. The spacecraft will literally not see the next morning if this card doesn't work perfectly.