Advice on where and how to learn about audio amps

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Romes, Oct 11, 2014.

1. Romes

Thread Starter Member

Sep 30, 2014
    So, I have been teaching myself about building circuits for a few years now, I can now read schematics pretty well, solder together amps, both valve and solid. I can modify the circuits so that I can have it look fancy, with plug in wires and things like that. Point is, I can put an amp together, but I dont understand why a .047 cap goes there, or why a 680ohm resister goes there.

I have searched pretty thoroughly online, and have yet to find a any resources that explain what it is im doing in a way that I can understand. I started reading Valve Wizard's tutorial. I got up to cathode load lines and at that point it lost me.

Any suggestions? Either valve or solid state or both.

2. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
  3. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
  4. Romes

Thread Starter Member

Sep 30, 2014
    Thanks for the heads up.
    Actually I did start reading the ESP texts a while back, I always get to a point where the math dislodges what I'm reading from reality. I know that this fact may doom me. Although I taught myself VB, and writing code is pretty much a giant math problem.... I try to equate amplifier framework to that of, say... a car. IE: Input stage is like ignition, the Coupling caps are blankety-blank.. yada yada (just an example, not literally what I think.) I cant come up with a good analogy.....

How do you guys and gals think of / visualize electronics?

5. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    The simplest analogy to flow of electricity is water flow, pumps, valves, piping, radiator coils, storage tanks.
    But analogies can only get you so far until it breaks down.

Eventually, you have to study the real thing. A good start is learn and be fully knowledgeable with:

Ohm's Law
    Batteries, power sources
    Resistors
    Series and parallel circuits

Capacitors as storage elements