Advice on microcontroller selection

samtheengineer

Joined Oct 9, 2011
Hello

I am a newbie to the world of microcontrollers and would be really grateful for some advice about choosing one. Basically, I’m doing a final year university engineering project that requires an MCU to take a number of analogue inputs, do some processing, and spit out an analogue output that will drive a loudspeaker. My supervisor has recommended looking at the Philips LPC2148 and associated development kits (http://www.olimex.com/dev/lpc-h2148.html) because it is cheap and looks able to fulfil the following requirements:

I/O – three analogue inputs (so 3 ADCs), 3 digital inputs (two servos and a bus for programming the controller), and one analogue output (requiring a DAC either built into the development board, or one I could connect on an add-on board)

Speed – a program size of about 500 floating pt operations, processing samples at a rate of up to 400/second, hence of the order 200,000 floating pt operations per second. I think the LPC2148 uses fixed pt arithmetic so would need to perform the equivalent of this in fixed pt.

Support – in place debugging support would be desirable; ability to be run on Windows; overall hardware and software cost of £100 or less.

Does this chip and its development tools look up to the job? If not, would you recommend an alternative? Are there any other major criteria I’m neglecting in the process of selecting a MCU?

Many thanks,

Sam

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
"Local support" is always a good thing, and if your supervisor can answer the questions you will have when getting this up the by all means pick a system he is familiar with.