Advice on buying a Multimeter

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by raziiq, Nov 25, 2009.

1. raziiq

Thread Starter Active Member

Dec 15, 2008
    Hi there.

I am new to electronics world and within 2 weeks i came to know that i cant do anything in this Electronic World without a Multimeter.

So i need advice on buying a NOT VERY EXPENSIVE multimeter for my projects.

What should i keep in mind before buying a Multimeter?
  2. raziiq

Dec 15, 2008
    BTW what about this Multimeter

- Diode Measurement
    - Transistor Measurement
    - DCV (200mV, 2000mV,20V,200V,500V)
    - ACV (200V, 500V)
    - DCA (200μA, 2000μA, 20mA,200mA,10A)
    - Resistance (200Ω, 2000Ω 20kΩ,200kΩ,20MΩ)
  3. ntmarwade

Nov 3, 2009
    Yes, Multimeter is very much important while analyzing the circuits.

Mostly it is used for

1. Voltage measurements (AC/DC)
    2. Current Measurement (DC mAmp or Amp, very few meters can measure AC current RMS value)
    3. Resistance (upto megaohms), continuety with low resistance.
    4. Diode test

The meter pricing varies as per following

a. measurement resolution
    b. measurement range (lower/upper)
    c. Sensitivity
    d. Duarability
    e. Test approvals and Certifications
    f. Brand name

be carefull about following while using meter

1. correct parameters selection
    2. correct range selection
    3. correct polarity connection

4. raziiq

Dec 15, 2008
    So whats your say on the Multimeter i have posted above?
  5. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    It looks OK, you can probably get cheaper with good results.

I like having two of them, a cheap unit that I won't cry over if I do something stupid, and a better one with the extra bells and whistles, such as a freq counter and capacitance meter. The transistor beta tester is almost never used IMO.

The cheap (really cheap) units are about as accurate as the good ones, until you fry them.
  6. KL7AJ

Nov 4, 2008