Advice on adding a Solar Panel to Trickle Charge battery

PaulHollingsworth

Joined Jan 13, 2016
So please excuse my lack of knowledge as Im very new to this industry...But I am making push button audio boxes that will be housed outside of the enclosures in an animal sanctuary here in the UK.

The set up I have at the minute is.... 3AA batteries hooked up to the Adafruit sound FX board (with built in 2W amps) This board needs 3.5-5V DC. When a button is pressed it triggers audio that plays out of the 3W mylar speaker. It is all contained within a weatherproof box.

However, to save having to replace the battery's every few days I want to add a small solar panel that will trickle charge some rechargeable batteries. The solar panels that I have and fit perfectly onto my box are (5V 1.5W 300Mah).

I have just ordered the Adafruit USB DC Solar Lithium Ion/Polymer Battery Charger. Would this be suitable to use for this project? And that leads me to my next question...what battery would you recommend to use that will be safe to leave on trickle charge every day...Lithium ion or NiMH seem to be the best? Would I need a diode between the solar panel and battery?

Also is there a way I could make the Adafruit FX soundboard automatically turn off when the button is not being pressed. At the minute it is constantly using power even when the audio isn't being triggered.

Thank you for any help.. I have put all the links below to the parts I have bought already...

Solar Panel: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/201450011824?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT
Sound Board: http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/audio-fx-sound-board-2x2w-amp-wavogg-trigger-2mb-n61ea
Push Button: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/291300140890?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT
Speaker: http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/3w-mylar-square-speakers-77mm-vc88v

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011