Advice for beginning EE career

Discussion in 'Career Advising' started by Comet, Jul 9, 2014.

1. Comet

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 9, 2014
    Background:

I am studying for a bachelors degree in electrical engineering. It seems like my interests don't match up with my skills and what I actually enjoy doing. I have always been interested in infrastructure, much more so than high-tech stuff or consumer electronics. However, I am bored with my job as a summer intern at an electric utility. My coworkers are very bright and I have learned a lot, but I am not seeing much work that I would like doing.

If I am going to sit at a desk all day, I think I would rather be writing code than pushing paper and doing simple Excel calculations. My math and programming skills are very good (at least compared to my classmates) and I haven't seen much work at my current employer with that kind of technical challenge, even for more senior engineers.

Alternatively, I could also enjoy a job with more opportunity to work hands-on and on my feet, maybe outdoors. I've done some reading about railroad signalling equipment; what does it take to work as a signal maintainer?

I have taken classes in circuit analysis/lab, digital logic design, microcontrollers, etc.

Possible solution:

Controls engineering seems like a compromise between the power and computer sides of EE. All the controls courses at my university are very mathematical / theoretical. That's fine with me, but the employers I've talked to ask for experience with more hands-on content (PLC programming, etc.) that isn't offered here. Are these classes still worthwhile? Is there inexpensive equipment I can purchase to gain practical experience?

Sorry if I posted this in the wrong place. Comments of any kind are appreciated.

2. Lestraveled

May 19, 2014
    This the kind of question does not require an answer, it requires us to give insight that we have learned while living our own careers.