Advertisements

PerryMakes

Joined Mar 28, 2012
First of all - HELLO!

New to the site - and really love what I see so far. Well... most of what I see. I'm going to be blunt and get to the point... In my opinion - the method you've chosen to display ads: SUCKS.

I have no problem with ad-supported sites. You've got to pay the bills somehow. But placing them inline with the site content - in an OBNOXIOUSLY distracting way - I'll say it again... SUCKS.

That wouldn't be a problem if you offered a pay-method to remove distracting content. But I'm assuming that something like that is absent from this site. Correct?

Luckily I write software for a living and 10 minutes on a User JS script and I can say goodbye to that annoyance, but I really feel sorry for the others - and for the person that made the choice to display inline ads in the first place. There are BETTER ways to accomplish the same thing.

Flame away...

[EDIT]
Uh oh... should I just try to get my foot up to my mouth now? Where did the ads go? Are they only displayed for those not logged in with an account? Boy do I deserve what's coming now...

[EDIT #2]
This would probably be a good time to read the TOS me thinks...

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Welcome to AAC!

I've never seen the ads, I only heard about them last month. :D

For registered members there are no ads. I think AAC presents a challenge to many would be spammers, Lord Knows the moderating staff is kept busy nailing these guys.

When you get 10 posts under your belt you also get more options. Hit and run homework types ruined it for everyone by erasing their posts, so restrictions were added to prevent.

We have albums, attachments, and of course, the AAC text book. Feel free to browse and ask questions, there are no dumb questions here, and we are firm about not allowing trolls. You will find many features unique to this site.

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010