adjustable voltage supply for a heater

dtak

Joined Jan 11, 2010
Hello, I am very new to circuit design and assembly, and an important piece of lab equipment died suddenly and needs to be fixed. However, some of the components are no longer available (the equipment is VERY old) and in lieu of building a whole new instrument again, I am trying to assemble a circuit to supply 4V at 2 Amps to a "low-resistance" coil heater that will be heating up a gas sensor to its working temperature (~700C) - I am unsure of what low-resistance means with this device. Also, the voltage supply needs to be adjustable to switch between standby and on states (I assume this will involve digital control of the high/low states?), as the heater will not be required to work continuously. The circuit also needs to be as low noise as it can be to minimize measurement errors.

What would be the best way to approach this project? I am sure it is probably relatively simple, but I am having a hard time getting started!

Thanks for any help!

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
What is the make and model of the piece of equipment?

Do you have the schematic for it?

If so, it would be very helpful if you posted it.

If not, can you create a schematic of how it currently exists, and post it?

It would be best to make as few changes as possible where lab equipment is concerned.

dtak

Joined Jan 11, 2010