Adding Momentary Stops to 120v AC drill

Devlyn Allin

Joined Sep 22, 2016
Hi guys, im new to this please be kind lol.

I have a Low gear Mud mixing drill that is powering a scissor lift

My issue is i need the scissor lift to stop at max and minimum. I was going to attach 2 momentary to the front and back, not to stop the motor but to disconnect the power going to the brushes/winding.

But when i disconnect the LEFT switch and add a N/C momentary it all works, but it shuts down BOTH left and right.
If i disconnect 1 of any wires nothing works

I have 2 wires on LEFT setting. 1 to brushes 1 to winding
2 wires for RIGHT setting ( same as above )

AC lines that run into the trigger and 2 black lines that run from trigger to drill, not sure where.
The trigger also has 3 speed settings with pressure.

im so lost please help.

tranzz4md

Joined Apr 10, 2015
I'm lost too. I know what the people on my job sites, in my country call a "scissor lift", a "mud mixer" and a "low speed drill". You must speak using entirely different colloquialisms, and at a different point on the planet. Since not even a sketch is given, it seems that you're actually describing 2 separate items and problems, but you've got to give us something to work with.

inwo

Joined Nov 7, 2013
One motor, two directions?
You need a switch to stop one direction only?
Another switch to stop other direction only?
Series ac/dc motor as in many drills?

Devlyn Allin

Joined Sep 22, 2016
One motor, two directions?
You need a switch to stop one direction only?
Another switch to stop other direction only?
Series ac/dc motor as in many drills?
Correct.
1 Drill 2 directions
1 direction should stop, allowing me to switch to another direction and lower the unit
using 2 switchs, unless theres a better way

Yes once reached limit it should stop then reverse/forward from there

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010