Adapting reference voltages

jasper

Joined Jan 3, 2008
Disclaimer - I am new to everything in the hardware world. I've been a software engineer for 12 years and have maybe 1 week of tinkering behind me.

I would like to build a fun/retro/useful set of analog indicator gauges that report on real-life events. I can handle network stuff and I will work my way through the microcontroller part but I cannot find suitable gauges. Everything I can find is way over the voltages I am dealing with. The easiest path I can imagine to getting unblocked would be some way to linearly (or at least predictably) map the approximately 0-5vdc range onto the 0-15vdc range so I can use readily available 0-15vdc panel voltmeters as my gauges.

The ways that seem to be possible given my extremely limited exposure:

1. Some simple transformer. I have no idea what the curves look like or if you can get anywhere near linear.

2. Some op-amp setup. I am way out of my league here. I could build it if I had a schematic but even the surrounding nomenclature is intimidating right now.

3. Some simpler transistor setup.

I would love to know if a secondary source of power would be necessary (my op amp reading seems to say they generally require + and - sources at a higher range) and other concerns like that. Alternately perhaps there is some ic that I could buy that does what I need without reinventing the wheel?

Many thanks, I suspect I will be a regular reader of this forum as I build my knowledge.

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
Maybe you can use a suitable ammeter with the appropriate shunt resistance to attenuate the signal to give you full scale for say a 5 volt DC input signal.

Here is the section on ammeters in the AAC ebook. You may get a better idea of what is involved by reviewing the material it contains. Ohms law will get you through most of the calculations you need.

hgmjr

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
hgmjr, you beat me to it ;)

Actually, I was going to suggest starting here: