AC Variable speed drive

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by electronis whiz, Feb 4, 2015.

1. electronis whiz

Thread Starter Well-Known Member

Jul 29, 2010
    I have a friend that's a master electrician. He was cleaning up his office today, and gave me some old stuff.

The one thing I got I know fairly little about. It's a Magnatek GPD 503. He said it's 3 phase, but thought I could put in a normal wall cord and run a 3 phase motor. It appears it's rated 300-500V 3 phase. Seems without a lot of extra gear it's not much use.

I'm not even sure it works. I like his idea, but I doubt that's possible, I was thinking maybe it could work as a signal generator of some sort if I can find a way to get 120 to run it and somehow isolate the output.

2. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    That is a VFD, Variable frequency Drive for a 3ph induction motor, some can use 1ph input and out put 3ph, but that is most likely a 10-15hp model, if so it it too large for 1ph in.
    Also being a 300v model you may have problems trying any output on 240v 1ph.
    If it does fire up, you may have luck running a smaller 240v 3ph motor.
    If it works, there may be a lucrative market for it?
    Max.

3. electronis whiz

Jul 29, 2010
    They seem to sell from $300-500. It had the cover off when I got it. I gave it a look see if could see any signs of issues, other than some dust i didn't really see anything.

4. strantor

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 3, 2010
    That's a rebreanded yaskawa drive, top of the line. Maybe worth a few hundred bucks if works, But it's probably 15+ years old. It probably doesn't take single phase input, although some models of the GPD do, they are not common. Most of them do however take a DC input. So if you had a step-up transfermer and rectifier, you might be able to use it.
    here's the manual:
    https://www.yaskawa.com/pycprd/look...1W9ROOa-FJQutNOPOdvUZ6CWgC782P7F_3ohoAfFdnl68

and several more info about gpd503: