AC to DC step-up/step-down power transmission system.

teneagles

Joined Nov 29, 2009
First off, while I am a total newbie to the theory of electronics, I have however built many practical devices from the proper store bought components. So if you start talking inductance values or resistance or the like, my eyes are likely to glaze over. However, if you say "use this, solder it to that, in series or parallel to the other thing, bolt it there, adjust to three turns or 3 ft pounds of torque", Ill be just fine, especially if pictures accompany the advice.

In this project, I want to take power from a windmill that uses a 110v treadmill motor to produce the juice, to a charge controller 300-400 feet away, that takes it in as 24v DC to the battery bank. The motor is permanent magnet, rated 8 amps, so when spinning backwards should produce 8 amps output.

I envision doing this by placing a 4x wound AC transformer for the step-up at the windmill, using the smallest possible line for 440v between the two points, and then having a step-down from 440v to 24v, and then having a rectifier to DC.

If this is incorrect, feel free to correct me. If I am not incorrect, then what I need to learn is how to build the transformers. The rectifier I figure I can scrounge out of an old alternator. If there are usefull inexpensive transformers that can be taken out of other junkyard electronic devices that would suit and save time, please, by all means tell me what devices to look for. I once used the magnets and the entire sttor out of old microwaves to get what I needed for a project, so I am not afraid to scavange.

Otherwise, does anyone know of some good links that have SIMPLE to use and understand design formulas or even plug in the numbers modules, that can help me figure out magnet types I can use, wire sizes for the loads I am speaking of, formulas for the 440v-24v step-down wraps, etc...?

Thank you in advance

Te

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007