AC Test System

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by krae, May 3, 2013.

1. krae

Thread Starter New Member

May 3, 2013
    Hi there, I am new to dealing with hands-on electrical work. I am hoping for some help in verifying I have this set up properly, mainly since I am paranoid about shocking myself!

I am building a system, as shown in the picture. The whole thing is in a vacuum chamber with proper electrical feedthroughs. I have a heater with a radiation shield (these are in one unit) with an AC temperature controller. The hot lead is connected to the heater and the neutral lead goes to the shielding around the heater. The shielding is also connected to the chamber, which is grounded. Does this configuration look okay?

One concern I have is the copper in contact with the heater face. I do not want any current running through these. They are in contact with a copper block with a water cooling loop. The water cooling loop is attached to the building water supply. Can I assume that this is grounded? Will I have current running through these copper bars? Should I physically ground them by running a wire to ground?

Thank you for your help!

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    What country are you in?

3. krae

May 3, 2013
    I am in the US.

4. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    What exactly is the heater face? I mean, if it's part of a resistive heater element then it is live and will conduct directly to the copper. The copper might even short part of the heating coil. If the face of the heater is ceramic, then it's insulated from the copper.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010