AC OR DC ? Servo help

GARYN

Joined Sep 4, 2009
Hello, I am an Engineer in a production factory who tackles alot of the electrical problems....
I would appreciate it if somebody can clear some confustion up for me regarding servo drives.....
Not many state wheather they are AC and DC or are they a standard type of drive and dont need to. I was working on a machine today and noticed the servo motor said it was a BALDOR BRUSHLESS AC MOTOR but the drive card by ADVANCED MOTION CONTROLS just said it was a BRUSHLESS PWM SERVO AMP but needed a 170VDC supply.
So is the drive AC or DC, if i put my meter on the card output do i put it on AC or DC to check voltageto motor.
I am quite good on standard motors but this is one area that has always confused me, as it says PWM on the card does this automatically make it AC or DC or can it be both.
The following pots were on the card including LOOP GAIN, CURRENT LIMIT and REF GAIN i dont know if this is helpfull also there were hall effect inputs from the motor.
I assumed Hall effect sensors made it DC but when i metered out the motor voltage i could not get anything but a pulsed 17VAC when set to AC which confused me even more.. or does this type of output not show up on normal meters.
I anyone can give me an easy electronic explanation between the differance between the 2, how to identify them and possible test techniques to see if the motor is getting the correct power/signal to aid faultfinding it would be a great help..
Thanks in advance...:confused:

rjenkins

Joined Nov 6, 2005
Hi,

a typical 'AC' servo system consists of a power supply which provides a DC bus voltage, then one or more servo drives which typically have a three phase PWM power output output to the motor, plus a feedback cable from the motor to the drive.

Some small systems have the PSU and servo in a single unit, but machine tool types are often modular multi-axis setups.